A simulation-based multi-objective optimization approach for production and logistics considering the shop floor layout

Applied research with improvements approaches such as Simulation-based Multi-objective Optimization, Lean, and Industry 4.0 concepts for the improvement of the shop-floor layout in complex production and logistics systems.

Manufacturing sectors in Sweden have a long history and tradition that leads to common non-optimized flows on the shop floor. Especially when having a really high product mix and a low-volume of customized products, a great deal of effort with respect to flow optimization is needed to stay present and compete in the globalized market. The goal of this project is to explore how Simulation-based Multi-objective Optimization can be used for improvement of shop-floor layout in production and internal logistics systems, having as industrial partner an international major water-pumps manufacturer with their bigger factory in Sweden. With the help of different improvement approaches such as simulation-based optimization, Lean, and the concepts of Industry 4.0, the potential results can serve for stakeholders and decision makers to design and improve the layout of production and logistics systems.

Xylem Water Solutions Sweden AB:s målsättning med projektet är att stödja utvecklingen och optimeringen av produktion- och logistiksflödet samt fabrikslayout. Arbetet innebär bl.a. att nya parametrar från 3D layout inkluderas i produktions- och logistikoptimeringen. Målet är att utveckla generiska metoder som tar hänsyn till faktisk anläggningsyta/volym när optimala flöden utvecklas. Projektet kommer även att inbegripa förändring av en befintlig anläggning med de planeringsmässiga problem som detta ger upphov till. Området är mycket intressant för svenskindustri eftersom många produktionsanläggningar i landet har en lång historik och är inte flödesoptimerade. Detta i sin tur begränsar framtida kapacitetssökning i produktion, konkurrenskraften och tillväxten i svensk industri.

Members:

University of Skövde:
Enrique Ruiz Zúñiga  enrique.ruiz.zuniga@his.se
Matias Urenda Moris  matias.urenda.moris@his.se
Anna Syberfeldt  anna.syberfeldt@his.se
Marcus Frantzén  marcus.frantzen@his.se
Leif Pehrsson  leif.pehrsson@volvocars.com
Masood Fathi  masood.fathi@his.se

Xylem Water Solutions:
Johnny Fält  johnny.falt@xyleminc.com
Ola Gustavsson  ola.gustavsson@xyleminc.com
Urban Kjellin urban.kjellin@xyleminc.com

Läs mer om Xylem Water Solutions Sweden

Produktionsanläggning_bild1

Produktionsanläggning_bild2

Logga_xylem