The University of Skövde is a government agency under the Department of Education. The Vice-Chancellor is the head of the agency. The University Board leads the university and is responsible for making sure that the agency performs according to official decisions. The Vice-Chancellor executes the decisions made by the Board. The Vice-Chancellor is supported by the Vice-Chancellor's staff, of which the Deputy Vice-Chancellor is a member.

At the University there is one faculty board with overall responsibility for quality within education and research.

The University's operational activities are organized into five thematic institutions:

The University's administration consists of eight departments:

  • Research, innovation and external relations
  • Academic Affairs Student Support Office
  • University Library
  • Estates and Facilities Office
  • Finance Office
  • Human Resources Office
  • IT Services Office
  • Executive Office