ConSIRT - Consortium for Sterile Water Injections Research and Training

The aim of this collaborative group is to serve as a central point for information, clinical training and research on Sterile Water Injections (SWI).

Sterile water injections

SWIs are a method, applied as early as at the turn of the century, to relieve pain in connection with minor surgery and acute lumbago [back pain]. The technique is simple; small amounts of sterile water are injected at the site in which the pain is experienced. Pain relief most often occurs within minutes and the treatment can be repeated as needed. In more recent years, SWIs have primarily been used to relieve back pain during childbirth.

Mechanisms of action

Sterile water is salt-free and causes osmotic irritation as well as mechanical stimulation when it is injected under the skin. The anti-nociceptive [pain relieving] mechanisms underlying SWIs are not fully understood but they most likely stimulate the bodies own pain relieving systems. These include the gate control theory, where the stimulus from the SWIs redirects the brains attention away from the original pain. Another theory is that SWIs stimulate the release of endorphins, which are a part of the diffuse noxious inhibitory control (DNIC) system. 

 

Presentation of members 
On-going projects
Completed projects
Publications
Workshops and Seminars 

   It only takes a drop of water 
           to relieve the pain

Drip of water

Members

Lena Mårtensson
Professor, University of Skövde
lena.martensson@his.se

Nigel Lee
Doctor of Philosophy, University of Queensland
nigel.lee@uq.edu.au

Ingrid Bergh
Professor, University of Skövde
ingrid.bergh@his.se

Sue Kildea
Professor, University of Queensland
s.kildea@uq.edu.au

Eileen Hutton
Professor, McMaster University
huttone@mcmaster.ca

Sandra Karlsson
Senior lecturer in biomedicine, University of Skövde
sandra.karlsson@his.se

Dennis Larsson
Professor of Biomedicine, University of Skövde
dennis.larsson@his.se

Dan Lundh
Senior lecturer in Bioinformatics, University of Skövde
dan.lundh@his.se

Britt-Marie Gunnarsson
University of Skövde
britt-marie.gunnarsson@his.se